AGRARIAN, in Roman Jurisprudence, a Denomination given to such Laws as relate to the Partition or Distribution of Lands. See LAW. The Word is form’d of the Latin Ager, Field. The Agrarian Law, Lex Agraria, by way of Eminence, was a celebrated Law, publish’d by Spurius Cassius, about the Year 268, for the Division of the Lands taken from the Enemy. Those other two in the Digest, the one publish’d by Caesar, and the other by Nerva, only relate to the Limits or Boundaries of Grounds; and have no Relation to that of Spurius Cassius.

There are fifteen or twenty Agrarian Laws, whereof the principal are: The Lex Apuleia, made in the Year of Rome 633; the Lex Sempronia; the Lex Cassia, in the Year 267; the Lex Cornelia, in the Year 673; the Lex Flaminia, in the Year 525; the Lex Flavia; the Lex Fufia, in the Year 691; the Lex Licinia, in 377; the Lex Julia Licinia; the Lex Livia; the Lex Marcia; the Lex Rubria, made after the taking of Carthage; two Sempronian Laws, in the Year 620; the Lex Servilia, in 690; the Lex Thoria; and the Lex Titia.